A Sincere Apology to “Wonder Woman”

Shy girl, it is not your fault;

it is mine.

It is my fault

that I fell through the trapdoors of infatuation,

landing hard on the unforgiving ground of trolling solitude,

then forgetting how to stand up, for my knees were weak

every time I was around you.

Your eyes are like kryptonite,

your voice a Siren’s song,

your smile a green arrow to my heart.

 

It is my fault

for not presenting myself the way

that I want you to see me as.

Sometimes, love is like cosplay –

we show ourselves in flashy attire,

emulating an image that we want to project on others.

I fear that I appeared to you

as a desperate loner,

a downtrodden victim of broken hearts,

a zero instead of a hero.

 

It is my fault

for the vulnerability for you I possess.

I was too shy to have confronted you,

so I slipped a confession in the pages

of “The Amazing Spider-Man”

and remained

anonymous

until the silence was too loud for me to bear.

 

It is my fault

that I underestimated your shyness,

your disinterest, or perhaps, your uncaring.

Leave a comment